Two in One

Two entries. One day. Appointment was mortifying… Definitely the worst I have had yet. My doctor literally RAN out of the room to end the appointment. Refused to review CTA images of my chest with me (original purpose was neck but it shows brain and chest too) – my neuro said she wasn’t comfortable going over the chest area and to ask my primary to explain them. He wouldn’t even open the images. Asked me not to bring my kids to appointments anymore – they were being unusually well-behaved, just sitting there, and it was only a 15 minute appointment. He told me that I was GRASPING FOR STRAWS, and need to focus on just one issue (not exactly possible with autonomic dysfunction), and that mold cannot cause neurological damage – I don’t have any neurological problems anyways. 
Mm… Dysautonomia and POTS ARE neurological conditions and I have Chiari malformation… A second neuro issue. Sorry, I’m trying to figure out what the hell is wrong with me. Yes, POTS – but I absolutely know there is an underlying cause. He also refused to order the lab tests that will show if mold is the issue… If he orders them, insurance will cover the cost. If not, it’s thousands out of pocket. I’ve printed several research studies on the neurological effects of mold mycotoxins, information on Dysautonomia and POTS, and discussions in mold survivors groups regarding all of the exact same things I’m dealing with – autonomic dysfunction, hormone imbalance, swollen adenoids/tonsils/lymph nodes, joint and muscle pain, fatigue, autoimmune issues, etc. I plan to drop these at his office. I don’t know what else to do. These people became very sick after either acute or long term mold exposure and have the EXACT same problems that I do. I don’t think I’m “grasping for straws” or that it’s any coincidence I got incredibly sick the week we put in our AC units and stayed nearly incapacitated until we moved.

He started asking about how I was coping with all of this because stress and depression can really cause a lot of issues. At this point, I lost it on him. Hell yeah, I’m incredibly depressed. Because you and 90% of your colleagues will not get your heads out of your asses and stop seeing this weak, sad little girl. I certainly don’t feel strong, but if I was weak, I would have given up awhile ago. I have kids, I wouldn’t hurt myself, but I can absolutely understand why some people lose all hope and end it. The way people with chronic illnesses are treated is absurd. Even with a diagnosis, they still treat you like you’re a burden – especially if you have questions or do research on your own. He doesn’t know anything about my conditions or the possible causes. So you know what you do if you have a patient with a condition you’re not familiar with? READ ABOUT IT. I’m stuck with him for now. Usually if I’m upset after an appointment, it’s because I’m mad at myself for failing to communicate what I wanted to. For wimping out… This time though, I had thoroughly explained the issue, my concerns, and given him information on the testing I’d need to determine if the mold exposure was the cause. It took everything in me to keep from destroying that place. He ran, literally ran. You have to laugh to keep from crying sometimes. 

  

6 thoughts on “Two in One

  1. Hahaha I can’t believe he actually ran out of the room! That seems so unprofessional. I’m sorry this doctor is being so difficult. Sometimes grasping for straws is exactly what you need to do! Autonomic dysfunction is so broad that you can’t focus on just one issue. My GI doctor basically started grasping for straws for me. He tested for things that were highly unlikely, but said that we won’t find anything if we don’t look for it. I think dropping all the info you found at his office is a good idea. If insurance will cover it, why wouldn’t he run the tests?? I just don’t understand doctors like that. Hopefully you’ll be able to get through to him soon!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s the type of doctor I keep trying to find… One that will exhaust even the possibilities that seem unlikely to them, just to have at least ruled everything out. He won’t order the tests because he doesn’t believe mold can cause anything other than allergies. Thank you for sharing! 🙂

      Like

  2. Thanks for checking out my blog. I hope it had something encouraging. It helps me any time I read of someone whose symptoms seem similar and they have been exposed to mold. I’m so sorry you’ve had this experience. I’ve seen my share of doctors too. The worst are those that look at you like you’re crazy because you know more about the situation than they do. They are doctors, after all. The best I’ve had so far has been a naturopath who really is a chiropractor – he helped me the most, but still didn’t view mold as the ongoing underlying issue even when I asked a number of times. He “d-sensitized” me to mold and then said I’d be okay, but still couldn’t figure out why I got better, but never completely able to function. After the 3rd d-sensitizing, I began to investigate more. I did mold testing through American Medical Laboratories that showed mold in my system. I’ve contacted the National Treatment Center for Environmental Diseases who apparently has an incredible track record for treating mold sickness. I’ve only found one review so far and it is a great one. Have you ever heard of this place in Georgia? Moving helped initially, but now I’m struggling again – mold was found in our air conditioning system 😦 The more it’s on, the worse I seem to feel. But we rent. Landlord is great (this time), but still doesn’t understand how sick mold makes some people. It seems like an ongoing battle. I’ll keep you in my prayers! And, I believe you!!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. So sorry you are going through this. Unfortunately most physicians are not trained in the are of biotoxin illness and they are completed clueless as it related to fungal induced health issues.
    There are two medical centers that treat Environmental Illnesses. One is in GA and one is in TX. The one is GA is cheaper and the one in TX has over 30 years helping people and was visited by a friend with stellar results.

    You can find more info on treatment at the TX center below, on a post I wrote. https://momsmoldresources.wordpress.com/2013/07/18/how-to-handle-moldmycotoxin-exposure-at-home-or-at-work-where-to-get-help/

    Wishing you well and healing. I feel your pain.
    God bless you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

